top of page
Search

Predicting height from growth curves

My eldest daughter said: I hope my height will improve to become 170cm (5’7”)

Let’s have a look at growth curves. Growth accelerates several times during adolescence, so we can only guess. Above a growth curve for Danish females and a fair prediction she will become disappointed (by an inch). A predicted median height is 173cm (5’8”) calculated using the height of her mother and my own height ((father’s height minus 13) + mothers height)/2. More precise predictions can be made through combination of anthropometric measures.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

dplyr or base R

dplyr and tidyverse are convenient frameworks for data management and technical analytic programming. With more than 25 years of R experience, I have a tendency to analyze programmatic problems before

©2020 by Danish Institute for Data Science. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page